Another Project To Develop

Posted on April 26, 2007. Filed under: art, ideas, performance, project, video |

I had an epiphany of an idea. Blogs. I’m amazed at how people are so ready and willing to post their life’s happenings on a public forum for any stranger to read. For young adults, I think it may have something to do with a study I saw on the news about twenty-somethings and the rise of narcissism. That doesn’t fully explain the popularity of blogging, but it does provide a platform to start from.

So my idea is to find personal blogs and perform or act them out in front of a camera. I’m still considering whether or not I should fully dive in and dress the part and make it seem like I’m in a confessional, or if I should just be me for all the blog entries.

The purpose I’m going after, I feel, is to look at the comfort people feel in posting their lives before complete strangers, but walking up to a person on the street and telling them what happened on your family vacation or that you despise your dad is absolutely out of the question. Also, it doesn’t seem to bother folks to read all about a stranger’s life. Is it then, okay, to see someone talk about their life on camera? That may add an element of “reality” TV to it, but more inwardly focused.

I’m really excited to work on this because I won’t need any assistance and production can go by quickly.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “Another Project To Develop”

RSS Feed for Video Ga Ga – Christina Shepherd Comments RSS Feed

In addition to the rise of narcissism you describe, I think part of the whole blogging vibe is the allure of having people “care” about your life. People whose ideas and feelings are generally ignored in real life can cultivate a social niche on the internet where they feel valued. I’m not saying this feeling is real, or even healthy sometimes, but I think it’s a huge part of why people reveal every minute detail of their lives online.

hi Stina! I’m not much of a blog person but I do have one that I keep private. hahah..I know some people that blog to talk shit all the time. boo to those people but I guess its their way to get people’s attention. Have fun
blogging nontheless=0) Love ya!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

